Andrew Nikiforuk’s Slick Water Finalist for Lane Anderson Awards, Best Canadian science books written in 2015

Awards: Andrew Nikiforuk‚ Cybèle Young among Lane Anderson Awards shortlisted by Becky Robertson, September 13, 2016, Quill & Quire

The finalists for this year’s Lane Anderson Awards have been announced. The two prizes of $10,000 each are presented for the best Canadian science writing. The Fitzhenry Foundation‚ which administers the awards‚ is also running a contest for readers to win copies of the shortlisted titles by naming their winning picks on social media. [Emphasis added]

Andrew Nikiforuk’s “Slick Water” a Finalist for 2015 Lane Anderson Awards Press Release by Greystone books, August 24, 2016

2016 08 24 Land Anderson Awards, Best in Canadian Science Writing Finalists, include Andrew Nikiforuk's Slick Water

The Lane Anderson Award was created by the Fitzhenry Family Foundation to honour great science writing in Canada. There are categories for adults and young readers. The winner in each category receives $10,000.2016 08 24 Land Anderson Award logo, Andrew Nikiforuk's Slick Water shorlisted, Best Science Book in Canada in 2015

Finalists for 2015 Lane Anderson Awards Announced by Lane Anderson Award, August 24, 2016

We’re excited to announce the finalists for the best Canadian science books written in 2015!

Adult Category

Frances Backhouse
Once They Were Hats: In Search of the Mighty Beaver
Publisher: ECW Press

Alanna Mitchell
Malignant Metaphor: Confronting Cancer Myths
Publisher: ECW Press

Andrew Nikiforuk
Slick Water: Fracking and One Insider’s Stand Against the World’s Most Powerful Industry
Publisher: Greystone Books

Michael Runtz
Dam Builders: The Natural History of Beavers and their Ponds
Publisher: Fitzhenry & Whiteside

Young Reader

Paula Ayer
Foodprints: The Story of What We Eat
Publisher: Annick Press

Elise Gravel
Head Lice: The Disgusting Critters Series
Publisher: Tundra Books

Merrie-Ellen Wilcox
What’s the Buzz?: Keeping Bees in Flight
Publisher: Orca Book Publishers

Cybèle Young
The Queen’s Shadow: A Story About How Animals See
Publisher: Kids Can Press

The two winners will be announced in Toronto, September 30, 2016.

From the award About Page:

Christopher Alam, a partner at the law firm of Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP, is the award administrator.

2016 08 25 Lane Anderson Award, Celebrating the Best in Canadian Science Writing

This entry was posted in Global Frac News. Bookmark the permalink.